2019 TEDxFargo Speakers and Performers Announced

TEDxFargo will take place on July 25, 2019 at the Fargo Civic Center from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm. The independently organized event, licensed by TED, will feature nearly 30 speakers and performers reflecting the theme of forward.

The speaker lineup features thought leaders from the Fargo-Moorhead community and around the nation that will share their ideas and perspectives on a variety of topics including personal growth, mental health, business, technology, and others.

TEDxFargo 2019 marks the tenth TEDxFargo event held in the community over the past eight years. “We’re incredibly grateful for the community’s support for TEDxFargo over the years and we look forward to seeing the event’s impact continue in the Fargo-Moorhead community and beyond,” says Emma McIntyre, TEDxFargo Project Coordinator. “The hope is that ideas shared at this event will inspire people and encourage them to take action that will make a difference.”

Nearly 2,000 people are expected to attend this year’s event. In addition to the mainstage speakers and performers, TEDxFargo also features TEDx Adventures, which are mini-events that registered attendees have the opportunity to participate in the week of the event. Attendees can also look forward to a locally crafted lunch and a few surprise performances throughout the day.

TEDxFargo is an independently organized event, licensed by TED, will feature nearly 30 speakers and performers reflecting the theme of forward.

Speakers and performers

Speakers and performers for TEDxFargo 2019 include:

  • Erika Ebbel Angle – CEO and co-founder of Ixcela, a biotechnology company aimed at developing tests and interventions to improve gut microbiome efficacy and health
  • Allison Barrmann – Strategy and Learning Vice President at the Bush Foundation
  • Officer Michael Bloom (performer) – A member of the Fargo Police Department in the role of Community Trust Officer; began rapping in uniform in 2016 as a way to connect with youth in the community
  • Mark Coppin and Sady Paulson – North Dakota natives; Apple Distinguished Educators; Sady edited and was featured in an Apple film on product accessibility
  • Lonnie Dupre – Minnesota native; Arctic explorer; completed the first successful January solo winter ascent of Alaska’s Denali in 2015
  • Douglas Hanson – Los Angeles-based architect
  • Bjorn Hunstad (performer) – Moorhead, MN native; 2018 American Beatbox Champion
  • Susan Hyatt – Master certified life and business coach; author of two books
  • Aneela Idnani – Mobile app designer; inspiration for the app HabitAware
  • Marshall Johnson – Executive Director of Audubon Dakota and the Vice President of the National Audubon Society
  • Eunice Kayitare (performer) – Neuroscience student at Concordia College; finds passion in using the Afro-contemporary dance as a means to tell a story
  • Michelle Kommer – Commissioner of the North Dakota Department of Commerce
  • John Lettieri – Co-founder, President and CEO of the Economic Innovation Group
  • Ashley Morken – Founder of Unglued Market, Unglued Craft Fest, and Unglued Summer Camp
  • William C. Moyers – Vice president of public affairs and community relations for the Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation
  • Dziwe Ntaba – Co-Founder & Board Member of Village Health Works
  • David O’Hara – Professor of Philosophy, Classics, and Environmental Studies at Augustana University
  • Kent Pekel – Educational leader; currently President & CEO of Search Institute
  • Dave Power – President & CEO of Perkins School for the Blind
  • David Richman – Head coach for NDSU men’s basketball
  • Craig Rupp – Farmer and entrepreneur; Co-founder of Sabanto, a company that provides total turn-key agriculture services, utilizing our supervised autonomous equipment platform
  • Dave St. Peter – President of the Minnesota Twins
  • Cory Steiner – Superintendent at Northern Cass School District
  • Randy Thomas – America’s premiere female live voice announcer; first woman to announce ABC News Nightline, The Academy Awards©, The Emmy Awards©, The Kennedy Center Honors, The Rock & Rock Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, and The AFI Awards©; announcer of The Oscars© and Tony© awards
  • Heather Watson – Expert in emerging Gen Z behaviors; leads behavioral research and consulting at the Center for Generational Kinetics
  • Annie Wood – Community builder; Associate Director for Student Life at Minnesota State University Moorhead
  • Jean Zimmerman – Executive Director for the Offutt Family Foundation

For more information about TEDxFargo and to purchase tickets, please visit tedxfargo.com.